Latest News from our School

Cumann na mBunscol Glory

Nov 05 2019

We started our Cumann na mBunscol campaign in early September. The girls had the busier schedule, playing Gael Scoil, Ballon N.S, Queen of the Universe, Scoil Mhuire Gan Smál and Tullow Girls. They finished second in the league as they were beaten by a very strong Ballon team. It would be the latter they would face in the final under light in Netwatch Training Centre, Fenagh. In wet and slippy conditions, they knew they had it all to do with Ballon tipped as favourites to lift the cup. The girls got off to a strong start and got stuck in from the throw in. Playing against the wind, Laila Hutchinson, Chloe Holohan and captain Chloe Ryan, were tough in defence and came out with much needed possession. Anna Mulhall and Keira Doyle caught and carried balls into our spritely forwards led by Emily Kelly and Sarah Keenan. The second half saw us score some superb goals and points to see off a tough Ballon side. Experience on the night told and the girls were deserving winners of the 3-in-a-row!

As well as the girls mentioned above, the panel included Kate Fennelly, Ava Lynch, Tara Webb, Tara O’Neill, Kerry Duffin, Paige Challoner, Síofra McMahon, Laura Broderick, Joanne Cranny, Emma Doyle, Fallon Cotter, Brooke Rea, Ella Fanning, Síofra Harvey, Alex O’Rourke, Elle Doyle, Róisín Brennan, Sofia Granjo, Millie Nolan, Ali Donoghue and Sarah Whelan.

The boys league saw them take on the Gael Scoil and Ballon N.S. They topped their group and drew Tullow boys in the semi-final. A win in this game brought them to the final for the second year in a row. After the girls’ performances, the boys had a lot to live up to. Playing St. Brigids from Bagenalstown, they were evenly matched and a close game ensued.  Against the wind, Mark Buggy and Seamus Bible got on the score sheet, with Ewan Breen and Dylan Farrell cutting out countless attacks. Although ahead on the scoreboard at half time, they had to put in a big 20 minutes. Bagenalstown’s momentum got going and with only five minutes to play, were ahead by 2 points. The boys never gave up and when Eoin Ryan won a free, he hit it low and hard. The resulting ball bobbed around the goal mouth until Peter Lynch and his wonder foot, kicked it into the bottom corner! Winning the resulting kick out, Bennekerry held on for a heart stopping win! Other valuable members of the panel were Ryan Gordon, Kyle Broderick, Sam McHugh, Callum O’Brien Murphy, Tommy Cooney, Luke Campion, Jack Keating, Rhys McCanny, Eoghan Brennan, James Carpenter, David McDonald, Ryan Quill, Adam Shannon, Cathal Flynn, Dara Hayden, Darren Byrne, John Hendricken, Bobby Harmon, Zac Nolan John O’Neill and Ray Alberan.

Much credit is due to teachers Ms. Deirdre Tomlinson, Ms. Marie Claire Murphy and our past colleague, Mr. Eddie Corcoran who guided and mentored both teams.

Popular Tags